Why don’t you work it out for YOURSELF instead of waiting for a sackholder to wipe your backside?

I’m /angry right now. I am at the end of a very short fuse because my gaming fun is being pretty much railroaded.

Running a linkshell is hard work. Running two linkshells is fucking insane. As Rotx discovered, it’s not easy to run Dynamis. He did ok, but it stressed the hell out of him. Doyler knows it, I know it but running linkshells is at times a thankless job.

I realise people have lives but many players’ priorities extend only as far as themselves. That means if they don’t feel like it, if they don’t want to, if they can’t be bothered – then they’re not going to do the things which makes life easier for everyone. No, this post doesn’t apply to everyone.

So which things are bugging me right now?

  • Know your fucking job. Learn about it, read about it, use it. Research. Work out what ALL your spells and Job abilities do. You’re 75. Not level 1. At 75 you ground through a TON of xp. If you don’t know what your spells and JA do, then go and learn NOW and don’t fucking show up to events until you know. That includes a basic understanding of what stats do for your job and when you should focus on what.
  • Learn how to macro gear. It’s not hard. We’re not talking Windower macros here we’re talking a few freaking lines of text which show you have half a freaking clue and that it isn’t a waste to give you endgame armour.
  • Stop pretending that events are IMPOSED on you and start remembering YOU wanted to do these freaking events and so WE organised them for YOU!
  • Start taking responsibility for yourself and your character and remember if you MESS up it DOES affect others and so act accordingly. People mess up; the best ones are those who admit it, apologise, learn from it and allow us to move the hell on.
  • Start thinking about more than yourself. Try showing up to some events you don’t have an enormous interest in, just because maybe, just maybe the people who do are your friends and the people who got your favourite piece of armour. Oh wait, you have it now I forgot – SCREW anyone else!
  • Stop being a lazy tard. No really. Go get your maps, your coffer keys, your meds.
  • Keep your fucking buffer capped rather than running around Whitegate. If you delevel and screw over an event because you lost key abilities you fail.
  • Work out for your freaking self jobs/subjobs/food. These are only events we’ve been doing for oh I don’t know 3-4 YEARS. Sure if we need you to change, we’ll ask you.
  • Let other people know if YOU can’t or in the case of Einherjar CAN make events.
  • Keep fucking Reraise up if you can Raise. Be prepared to HOMEPOINT if needed and don’t bitch.
  • And if you come to an event and you forgot reraise or it came down and you didn’t notice, say that. Don’t bullshit me with ‘Oh it got dispelled’. You know why? Cos 9/10 times the mobs can’t dispel freaking Reraise ANYMORE. Which you’d know if you ever freaking read the update notes. Oh you know, the ones we post in the FORUM that you don’t use. Stop being cheap and buy reraise, all of you. Yeah even you, the guy who never bothers in Dynamis and calls for freaking raises. I’ve warned you once.
  • Oh whilst you’re at it, I’ve heard EVERY excuse there is. I mean EVERY. Sure some of them, they’re pretty genuine but you know what, I’ve heard more BULLSHIT out of the mouths of linkshell members than I have anyone else.
  • Oh and remember, just because YOU want a piece of gear doesn’t mean someone else doesn’t and has done MORE work than you and so DESERVE it. What? You just got that job to 75  – oh wait that means you should throw a tantrum when they get to lot!?
  • Oh and if you don’t show up to runs, guess what, those Dynamis Rules – yes they apply to you too. Yes, we know work, family – stuff. No problem. We’re not kicking you from the freaking shell, you didn’t show for three runs in a row and we decided the people who did, deserved not to get armour lotted out from under their noses by selfish ***** who think that’s just fine. Yes I know, it sucks. But guess what – YOU WEREN’T THERE. They were. They kept the shell going whilst you dealt with whatever real life threw at you. But no, you decided that instead of letting it go, you had to get upset and throw a fit about it. Instead of just accepting that at some point, the same will probably happen to them and it’s just life.

I don’t think the sun shines out of Japanese butt but I seriously have an issue with some Western players and more I have an issue with players who treat those around them like shit by ignoring them by repeatedly letting the shell and their friends down and by generally not caring enough to contribute usefully to a community.

Cos you know, I don’t get paid for this shit. I’m paying my subscription fees just like you. I put one HELL of a lot of work into the shells I run and frankly some days, you make it all feel like nothing.

Tags: , ,

Categories: drama, linkshell, Rant

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

11 Comments on “Why don’t you work it out for YOURSELF instead of waiting for a sackholder to wipe your backside?”

  1. RC
    May 18, 2009 at 04:02 #

    I feel your frustration.

    Like

  2. Audeas
    May 18, 2009 at 16:45 #

    I can feel the heat off this screen. I either missed something at Einherjar, or this happened in another event. Wow.

    Like

    • eldelphia
      May 18, 2009 at 22:27 #

      One small thing triggered this but it was enough to break the camel’s back.

      Like

  3. May 18, 2009 at 19:31 #

    Eldelphia,

    First and foremost. I need a paypal link to donate to your bar tab this weekend. I’m not making fun just can completely understand the frustration and think some of the magic fire water might help you get rid of some of this.

    Secondly, let me say I’ve been reading your blog and absolutely respect how you run things ^_^. We may not see eye to eye on every little detail but as a leader you care and honestly work to make your ls better and its a breath of fresh air after some of the shells I’ve been in. I’m sorry things are getting stressful for you but it seems you laid the smackdown for whoever this was intended for appropriately.

    The whole JP vs Western players thing I think is just stereotype. Their culture in general is a very social and for the whole mentality. But online they’re just as bad as westerners. Its really the anonimity that does it for us. None of these people know who they are irl and in some peoples minds we’re all just npcs put into the game to help them achieve what they want. I’ve seen just as many jp players fake dc from exp parties as I have western players. I’ve had just as many jp parties overcamp on top of parties i’ve been in as western parties. I mean everything thats evil and used to vilify western culture I’ve seen a JP player do it. The only place I have no expertise is in endgame shells so I will have to trust you with that. But I have a very Dr. House-ian attitude when it comes to this game and beleive 95% of the people you meet in game follow human nature to a T and only care about themselves and their gear.

    Sad fact but I hope things get better 🙂 I need an officer to keep looking up to and wanting to be like :).

    ~Star

    Like

    • eldelphia
      May 18, 2009 at 22:26 #

      Thank you for taking the time to post. It helps to have a few good wishes winging my way and I’ll take you up on that drink. I probably need a time-out. So spent some time with an old friend tonight and just walked away.

      Like

  4. May 18, 2009 at 20:49 #

    I think part of the problem is that a lot of players believe FFXI is supposed to Monty Haul for them (hence things like the Salvage dupers).

    I think they also believe they can do anything (with the help of about six illegal addons). (Which is one of the main reasons they (and no one in the player base) will never really find out how to beat AV or PW without similar illegality.)

    Frankly, what you are experiencing is a direct off-shoot of the arrogance of the FFXI player base.

    Like

  5. Audeas
    May 19, 2009 at 17:25 #

    I would have to disagree with the responder above on the JP/NA mentality observation. After returning from 5 years in South Korea and playing side-by-side with JP players, their whole take on this game differs widely from NA players. JP players do not sit at HNM camps and ridicule others in /say. JP players were the ones who pioneered paying members in their event shells from items gained from their camps. JP players do not make websites dedicated to the trashing of their fellow players, gear choices, playing styles. This is done by NA players. JP players may d/c from a party or do some other questionable action (I’ve seen things happen in parties I’ve participated in), however they are not prone to be aggressive, obnoxious or outwardly selfish, as we Americans are.

    I’d also like to observe that I think Eld is a good leader with a lot on her plate. I’ve been in /tell with her as we are attempting to get those last parties into place, or negotiating over the week on how we want to fine tune a line-up. No, she is doing a lot and she is to be commended for that. I’m pleased to work beside her.

    Like

  6. May 26, 2009 at 16:16 #

    Farseer here from Shiva. Leading my own ls atm and i couldnt agree more with every word you typed!
    I’m also from Wales, Aberystwyth :p

    Like

    • eldelphia
      May 26, 2009 at 16:19 #

      Right, so if I ever step down from this leadership malarkey I can come and make your life hell on Shiva! /wave from the SE to the midwest coast 🙂

      Like

  7. bloodyangel
    November 27, 2011 at 10:50 #

    “Right, so if I ever step down from this leadership malarkey I can come and make your life hell on Shiva! /wave from the SE to the midwest coast ”

    talk about irony…

    but damn did reading that bring back memories xD
    and oh i did screw up, BIG TIME, if you remember ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

