Succor to the Sidhe or the Fay Weapons Quest

Woot! Yes, our first attempt at this was fun!  Alustriel set up the run and after Dynamis Buburimu and a short break I headed out to Grauberg [S] to trade my weapon to Callisto. For details of how to get started – click here.

Starting the Quest

Starting the Quest

Essentially, after the recent update a new quest appeared where you could get a rare ex weapon for each job class with a series of augments on it. So having read various other people’s results on BG  – I was really interested in a BRD dagger as it offered Song Spellcasting time down and a SCH staff for the Enhancing Magic. Square Enix may have given us up to 80 more equipment slots but they’re sure finding ways to fill them up quickly…

I’ve been hoarding the materials which drop from Campaign Unions and between a few peeps in the shell (thanks Xan and Nia especially) have made or contributed to various weapons.  I ended up having to buy a very expensive jacaranda lumber but I figure if I had close to 100 woodworking rather than cloth I’d see it as a godsend too.

Went out to Grauberg with a Dweomer knife, Fay Crozier and Fay Staff.  I ended up passing on the SMN weapon to Alu because whilst she got an amazing BP piece with -5 timer and other stuff on it, she was after the -3 perpetuation which ends the having to take all 8 Ele staves out to play every time.

Stonewall after his Wivre Adds were down

Stonewall after his Wivre Adds were down

We popped the NMs all 5 times. Essentially you trade your base weapon to Callisto and then go to a pop location in various of the past zones and speak to a Watchful Pixie and that pops some NMs. You’re effectively in a 6 man mini bc, others cannot help you. We did Grauberg because well, we knew lots about it but I think on reflection and seeing Uneac’s crappy weapon choices we should have also done Xarc. We have vowed to go do Xarc soon for him.

Offering Augments

Offering Augments

After the fight, another pixie pops and offers you a randomised selection of augments on your weapon. You can turn them down and try again. You’re allowed 5 attempts in total before taking or I’d guess losing your weapon. As you probably guessed Clevan like his new NIN weapon!

Declined Augmented Weapon

Declined Augmented Weapon

The first knife I was offered was CHR+4 and ENM-4 . We know CHR is good but not on a knife at 75. The second was interesting and I wish I’d screenshotted it – was offered MAcc+8 – also awesome but your staff will beat that, by a little if NQ and a lot if HQ. I don’t know whether there’s a good shield pairing for it but it didn’t seem awfully useful. The next was a combo of less CHR and Macc which was again not what I was after. On our 4th attempt I got the knife I went with

Augmented Dweomer Knife #1

Augmented Dweomer Knife #1

The max Song Spellcasting down timer peeps have found so far is -4 but as I was on attempt # 4 I decided to take this and farm up some mats for later attempts. I really like that it has -ENM on it too. I’l go back and try for 4 at some point but this is pretty nice for buffs when coupled with my gomlek.

So as Neph and Uneac hadn’t really gotten anything interested and we were going again, I traded in my SCH weapon. Boy was I glad I did! We did the last fight and out popped..

Augmented Fay Staff #1

Augmented Fay Staff #1

Now all I had wanted was the Enhancing Magic and bam! there is was in its full +7 glory. Let alone a bit of Fast Cast. The MAcc is pretty high but a HQ stave out does it. If you didn’t have HQ this would be pretty awesome anyway.  Not gamebreaking but a nice piece.

As for the fight itself, it was pretty straightforward. We were low on melee damage but we did have a good COR with what seemed like decent gear for DD. We went with PLD, WHM, RDM, BLM, SAM , COR. The fight opens with one Quad NM and 5 Wivre. Clevan kited the NM whilst Kaz, Neph and I took out the Wivre. Uneac and I had no trouble at all sleeping them or keeping them slept so it was just a matter of time.   Elemental magic did well against them.

Once the Wivre were down, we then started work on the NM. We straight up fought him until he Invincibled and kited him whilst he tried to Smash Skulls. His resistance to everything gets higher as his HP gets lower and he spams guard and defensive moves so you need to be spamming Dispel straight back at him.  On the first run, like a complete idiot, I’d forgotte to change to /RDM… so by the end of the fight I was about as much use as a chocolate teapot. My nukes never hit for full damage on the NM and resist gear didn’t seem to make an enormous difference. From 100-50 you could still make a reasonable contribution, after that I could do 120-500 damage max and under 20% almost nothing.  Still he wasn’t very hard to kill and our fights would have been faster had we had one more melee but, we still killed him in around 20 mins. I think the heavier melee setup were doing it in around 15.

Try again?

Try again?

Lots of fun, and I’m really interested to try some of the other fights, especially as Uneac didn’t get a decent dagger out of Grauberg.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Equipment, Events, NM

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

