Odds and Ends; PLD, DRG (!), Cure potency and Dark Knights

My PLD hit 42 which is cool. I don’t xp it much because I don’t want to cap down to 22 or 37 and spend my life fighting Qufim or East Ronfaure [S] mobs. I know it’s big and clever for some people, to worry about skills once the job is up there but I hate it. Hopefully 50-70 at least will be better. Be nice to hit 60+ so that Campaign is a reality.

Eld in 60 Cap Gear

Outside the ENM

I’ve found a new way to improve my shield skill. I’ve been keeping it capped on PLD anyway but it’s super low for WHM and RDM.  So far I’ve done the solo ENM twice and both times I’ve gotten a couple of levels of shield skill at least! Add in some random Sky farming with Mac recently and my Shield and Parrying skills are crawling upwards. This time beating the ENM resulted in this…

Healing Feather

Healing Feather - 15% Cure Potency!

So I put on all my Cure potency gear and hit the Cure Calculator.  Assuming you’re in Temenos with a Korin Obi etc (double light weather, lightsday for total ePeen) and with my gear and stats…

Cure Calculations

Cure Calculations

Obviously this situation doesn’t come up often but a cure of 1400+ is a bit ludicrous. Doesn’t even include a Medicine Ring.

In Dynamis we had some fun in Windy.  We finally had that infamous run where someone aggro’s the Death House which kinda screwed us but we made the most of the time we had and did pretty well. If we had pushed a lil harder it was still possible to get the win but in the end we just didn’t. Usually Windy is a walk in the park for us but /shrug shit happens. Was nice to see this though….

Dellos six for six

Dellos goes 6 for 6 after 3-4 years of dyna

It took him a while, going 5/5 on WAR and picking up a lot of MNK /SAM/DRG gear in the process but good to see this chapter closed and a friend complete a set so he can store it!

After Dynamis, I wanted to spend some time hanging out with Dell and C. It’s been nice that they’ve both been around recently – giving us the chance to hang out again after quite a break. I met C in a Den of Rancor xp party on Tormenters when I was in my late 60s on WHM and then met Dell, when C agreed to tank Ifrit for me. C realised it really was time for him to get moving on RDM for his PLD as the level cap will make it even more useful so I dragged him and Dell out on lowbie jobs. By the time my level 3 DRG was geared up, Clevan was 3 and Dell was 2 on RDM and BST respectively. We figured that if we could get C to 10 then we could synch most things to him.

We ended up in KRT. At level 8 we took on Spook… first time we won but when he repopped, he was tougher…

Party dead to Spook

N00bs dead to Spook

We all had reraise so once he depopped we could recover. We then messed around for a while and I ended up learning Thunder Thrust. Which I hasten to add is crap! Dell and I got to level 10, I believe C hit 11 but I had to homepoint before I saw that as I died again to some gob or something…

Eld Dead in KRT

Eld dead in KRT

I went to bed having messed around with Jump and not having gone to see Vrtra just to fire off Ancient Circle. I doubt very much Vrtra would have been intimidated by a level 10 DRG, but the thought is rather wonderful…

And no, I am not playing XIII. I don’t have anything to play it on. I hear it’s rather good.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: ffxi

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Odds and Ends; PLD, DRG (!), Cure potency and Dark Knights”

  1. March 15, 2010 at 04:08 #

    276 Healing magic? No AF+1 hands yet eld? I thought you did have them O.o

    Like

  2. eldelphia
    March 15, 2010 at 13:46 #

    Nope. Made a conscious decision not to go for them. A while ago I did a whole series of tests with some other WHMs (http://ffxi.allakhazam.com/db/jobs.html?fjob=1;mid=1158670390287976678;num=20;page=1) and right now, Healing magic skill doesn’t make enough of a difference for them to merit another spot in my invent. I have upgraded AF+1 head, body, legs so far and have the set for my hands if I want it. However they only impact Cure V which has a base recast time of 10seconds. I’d rather have haste and not carry them around for one spell. Funnily enough though, I’m reconsidering them for Mystic Boon 🙂

    It comes down to a few points healed for a single spell where I am already overcuring if I use it, except in the most extreme circumstances. I’d rather work on +1 Blessed which beats out almost everything else.

    * Healer’s Mitts +1 and Blessed Trousers +1 give you 14 MND, 45 MP, 4% Haste and -10 EMN plus 15 Healing Magic Skill
    * Blessed Mitts +1 and Blessed Trousers +1 give you 15 MND, 48 MP, 10% Haste and -10 EMN

    So it comes down to 1 MND, 3 MP, 6% Haste and 15 Healing Magic Skill

    Like

  3. mcintds
    March 15, 2010 at 15:52 #

    Ah. Fair enough, I’ve had mine since well before the addition of cure potency gear past weapon/body. It’s true that in the cure 5 formula, it takes 5 Healing Magic before a result is seen (thus the hands are ~3 MND stronger than they appear), but with the addition of the cure potency legs/hat the necessity for the hands has certainly decreased. However, since I’m not likely to ever have to spam Cure V someone (even during zerg fights) I don’t see any reason not to carry and use them, especially since I put PUP ahead of WHM in ASA legs.

    Fantastic hands for Hexa and Boon though! 😀

    Like

    • mcintds
      March 15, 2010 at 15:53 #

      Annnnnnnnnnd I replied on my wordpress account. Tis Dantaro btw!

      Like

    • eldelphia
      March 15, 2010 at 17:35 #

      Well I’m not surprised you put PUP up there, that’s a mighty fine pair of hand-to-hand you have thar!

      One day I may take a galka MNK to the Limbus lobby and hurt them a lot. Then pile on obi, feather, ring etc etc etc and just see. Then I’ll put it all away and laugh at my inner NRD.

      >.>

      Like

      • mcintds
        March 15, 2010 at 18:37 #

        If you can’t do that, you could get close with Aurora Storm on Lightsday instead! Sure, not quite the same, but still epic! XD

        Like

Leave a Reply

