Want NMs? Give us BLM xp!

I swear I am never going to get BLM to 80. It’s driving me nuts. Synching on puddings kinda works but the place is overrun with trial people here on Alex at the moment and finding someone to synch with isn’t very easy. After 76 they pretty much become obsolete.

So far I’ve tried quite a few options.

Campaign. Did one epic Campaign which netted me 5k, most of them are lucky to hit 1.

I’ve also spammed a bunch of Campaign Ops, including some Icelands Slaughterhouse with friends. That was nice but for some reason the dragon loves to aggro someone… and kill everything in range. Been back a couple of times solo for my 400xp a day and its ok but not exactly awesome.

I’ve gotten my xp scroll from Sacrarium. Got 880xp go!

I’ve tried Grauberg Hyppos. They were ok, but a lot of work for 100xp and now I’ve dinged…

So I checked out Castle Oz [S] to see if I could find a SMN with a decent pet. I could find tons of SMN but I also found all their buddies and some imps. There might be decent camps in there but god knows where. I left before I died.

I then went up to Castle ZB. I checked out a PUP camp but it’s not really suitable for BLMs. I then found a Demon SMN with DC elementals. I did ok on these for a bit but the dark ele’s love to resist just enough to get you killed. I survived once but the second time, I had to MF and gtfo. There might be a better camp in there for the higher level demons but I’d need a duo partner.

No luck in getting a normal xp party invite and I’m not sure I can face trying Riverne or Promyvion based on the fact that all BLM feedback from there is ‘meh’.

The only option I have right now is MMM – well, if I can find a SCH and COR… that isn’t me. MMM looks like a good thing but will have to get peeps together. I’ve started the ball rolling but the ideal setup is SCH, COR and BLM/SCH x 4. Most the BLMs I know don’t have /SCH. /RDM should work but isn’t as fast. Now to find a COR and SCH that aren’t me…

Abyssea works well enough and is the most fun. Problem is our linkshell is low on support right now and every melee on the fucking planet wants to bring their melee jobs and nothing else. I can understand why but at least they CAN get xp elsewhere… whereas BLMs simply can’t.

Almost everyone who has BLM, has WHM or RDM or BRD or some other healer or support. Whereas most of the melee players I know couldn’t be arsed to level something different which would actually give them job flexibility. Some have of course but hardly any. If thursday is like last week – we’ll have 10 melee, 5 BLMs and a token support job.

Considering BLMs die for our two linkshells more than any other job, it would be nice if we could get some support levelling. It would simply be great if some of the guys who were obsessed with smashing, could step back and switch out to a support role occasionally.  Problem is, until the mages get some decent xp, they’re reluctant to go out and do anything else. It’s beginning to show. I refuse to lose xp on a job if I can’t get the support to level it.

You try getting 200k+ xp at 3k an hour max and tell me how much you like it. Then see how much you’d like to lost 10k on something new.

Yours, in frustration…

EldelphiatheTealBLM

Tags:

Categories: levelling, Rant

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

12 Comments on “Want NMs? Give us BLM xp!”

  1. July 14, 2010 at 16:08 #

    You’re on the right track with Zvahl Baileys (S) as far as soloing Demon’s Elementals for EXP.
    http://www.bluegartr.com/forum/showpost.php?p=3935478&postcount=248

    Like

    • eldelphia
      July 14, 2010 at 18:04 #

      I went there today and got completely pwned. Willing to try it again but it wasn’t pleasant.

      Like

  2. July 14, 2010 at 16:15 #

    I haven’t check it out yet personally (been busy w/ Monk Magian stuff), but I got this on BG: http://www.bluegartr.com/forum/showpost.php?p=3935478&postcount=248

    BLMs are also apparently really good for Abyssea EXP alliances. Which isn’t solo, but getting 500+ EXP/kill while not doing much/all of the work is decent I’d say. (I also haven’t done this yet personally.)

    Like

    • eldelphia
      July 14, 2010 at 18:07 #

      Yeah, I’m doing Abyssea with Ls when we can but at the moment everyone wants healers and brds etc. It is good xp and tomorrow I’m just going to have to put my foot down about getting BLM done.

      Leaves us with no healers…

      I tried SMN pets, perhaps I just had shit luck but I didn’t one shot. I have good but not exceptional gear. 8/8 skill, 5/5 int. No Novio though.

      Like

  3. July 14, 2010 at 20:36 #

    If the two-elemental area doesn’t work, try dropping into the pit facing SW at (G-9). Then you should be on a ledge above a single Foredoomer Demon and its elemental. There is no risk (aside from not one-shotting) provided that you don’t go too close to the edge to be seen by other demons (they will see you if you aren’t invisible).

    Actually, I forgot to state (in that post; I did in a previous one) that one-shotting basically requires AM II (for most) most of the time (ignoring day and weather bonus). Sorcerer’s Ring is not required.

    Like

    • eldelphia
      July 15, 2010 at 09:18 #

      For some reason I think my first attempt just was super unlucky. I’ve just been one shotting elementals like nobody’s business….

      Like

      • eldelphia
        July 15, 2010 at 10:54 #

        Oh I should add. The one’s inside the pit are Tough to 79 and are oneshottable. The ones inside the room are VT and even with resist gear – aren’t for me yet. My skill is a little low but I nuked in skill gear to test and even with 130+ INT and 334 skil I couldn’t one shot. So maybe at 80 and once fully skilled they might work. Or a sorc ring/novio could do em but I can’t yet.

        Like

        • July 15, 2010 at 13:29 #

          After checking the kind of damage you can do with Burst II without Sorc Ring for the two-elemenetal room, I think you need to nuke in max-damage equipment.

          I wouldn’t worry about resists; you will always half-resist (or worse) 5% of the time, so that can’t be helped (Mana Wall & logout, perhaps returning to the ledge after passing the Ahriman, if the demon notices).

          For example, +31 MAB (relative to 32 base MAB from BLM trait, what you would have with 5/5 potency merits, Zenith Mitts, Yigit Crackows, Selenian Cap with MAB 2, Moldavite, Teal Saio, and Teal Slops) and 134 INT should yield 1537 damage with Burst II, enough to one-shot an Ice or Dark Elemental. HQ staff is important though.

          You’re right that the pit elemental is lower level (actually it can spawn level 80).

          Like

          • eldelphia
            July 16, 2010 at 09:07 #

            I discovered that you need to hit 1520 to one shot them. That’s always easy for Freeze II but not so much for Burst II which means the int on the staff is making the small difference. In the end I soloed most of 79-80 in the 2 summoner room :). Ice weather is awesome and I loved /SCH for alacrity to cut down the recast timer on Freeze II. Making chain #5 simple. Thunders day was amazing – because then of course you’re into obi/sorc pants and you easily outdamage everything. I don’t have the selenian cap – mine is cure potency unfortunately :). A friend joined me for a short while and we tried duoing but with him there I was more confident to mess around with one shotting. Manawall and alacrity also saved my butt more than once.

            I think with an improved neckpiece and maybe investing in a sorc ring, I’d have done it easily. As it was, being able to solo #5 was fantastic. And now I’m level 80 with 2k buffer >.>

            Like

        • eldelphia
          July 15, 2010 at 13:37 #

          Interesting. I hit 288 skill and suddenly I could one shot every time with Freeze II. Burst II not so reliable but often was ok.

          Like

  4. July 15, 2010 at 01:37 #

    Staren and I do Abyssea with our linkshell, but we insist on bringing at least 3 black mages. Doing magic damage and/or killing with magic increases the likelihood of blue chests dropping, which increases the likelihood of time extensions. It is really nice exp though, hopefully you can convince your linkshell to let you bring black mage! Thankfully our officers all have BLM and/or THF they’re expected to come to dynamis as so we all understand the need to love usually un-loved jobs! Good luck getting 80 :]

    Like

Leave a Reply

