WHM – August 2011 Edition

Time for an update. I’ve managed to get hold of Owleyes, Portent Pants, a Zelus Tiara, a Goading Belt  and a better Facio Bliaut. Edit: this isn’t about me telling anyone else how to gear/play their WHM, rather a reflection on where I am with it.

WHM Standing

WHM Standing

WHM StandingThis has my refresh gear in. I’m using a Genbu’s Shield to offset the physical aspect of damage down on the wand. However this is a bit of a headache when you’re fighting something which spams magic. Still, most of the the time a WHM is out of range.

WHM Haste

WHM Haste

WHM HasteI’m actually over the haste number I need right now. I need to tweak this if possible. Goading Belt and Zelus tiara have helped tons.

WHM Regen

WHM Regen

WHM RegenBecause I need to switch in some other pieces for their bonuses to regen I use some other pieces of haste gear. Honestly I should take my celeritas pole wherever but I often forget it.

WHM Enfeebling

WHM Enfeebling

WHM EnfeeblingPretty pleased with my WHM enfeebling set. Decent potency, good skill (especially /SCH) and I find it very useful. The cape is the enfeebling skill cape from Sea. Can’t remember which one it is right now.. altruistic?

WHM Repose

WHM Repose

WHM ReposeI have a nuking set for holy/banish also but this is a decent set for repose with good skill, MND and skill. I should probably add a divine torque and earring but honestly I don’t get resisted usually and my inventory is groaning already. Ring is an Omega of course.

WHM Na

WHM Na

WHM NaDecided that the pants bonus for healing magic and the chance at AoEing with the head meant they stay in. I thought I had my goliard Saio in here but I think I adjusted for Cursna (orison body +2 has healing magic skill)

WHM Orison Briault

WHM Orison Briault

WHM Orison BodyThis is what my cure V and cure VI land in. I macro in cure clogs initially but I don’t use spellcast so that’s about all I do. This nets me 46% cure potency and the increased stoneskin bonus from the briault.

I’m not quite capped. I figure if I want to I can work on the +1 neckpiece and get myself up there or I could add 1% cure potency with the serpentes set but you can’t beat augur’s gloves and marduk feet for V/VI really.

I have slightly less MND and more -ENM for Cure III/IV. If I want to cap cure potency right now inside abyssea I can always switch things out and use Rescuer.

WHM Facio Bliaud

WHM Facio Bliaud

WHM Facio BliaudIf I want to hit the cure potency cap of 50% I can do it in various ways but this one isn’t bad

WHM hMP

WHM hMP

WHM hMPKinda does what it says on the can. I should work on the new staff in Horutoto.
Tags:

Categories: Equipment, ffxi

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “WHM – August 2011 Edition”

  1. c.
    August 17, 2011 at 20:40 #

    Rescuer is a terrible atma choice for WHM, especially when you have the gear to hit the cure potency cap. Allure, Undying, or Savior are all better atma choices, you can’t give up enough CP gear slots for MND to make 10% CP worth more than +30MND and -30Enmity, +50MND, or +30MND and +30VIT. Fylgja Torque +1 is worth having over the Beads because it has -enmity in addition to the cure potency. A 50% CP set using Serpentes set is worse than a 49% CP set using Augur’s Gloves and almost any pair of +MND feet for C5/6 (though Zenith Pumps can get CP augments now and may be the best feet option).

    You should never have Cure Clogs in any cure set, ever.

    May want to look at Laurel Wreath for your enfeebling/repose set. Why isn’t your Moonshade Earring here? Did you choose +30MP over +4Macc for the second augment?

    For hMP, refresh counts as 3.333333… hMP. Orison body +2, Wivre Hairpin (Refresh+1), Stearc Subligar (Refresh+1, hMP+4) are all best in slot hMP pieces. Too bad Moonshade Earring doesn’t work while resting.

    Like

  2. eldelphia
    August 17, 2011 at 22:39 #

    I agree about Rescuer but if I really wanted to, I can switch out my gear and go that route. I don’t tend to use Rescuer on WHM anymore, prefering it on RDM if I have to cure on that job. I have Allure/Undying/Matriach/Future Fabulous and many, many others.

    I disagree with you on cure clogs, especially with curagas and with more people refuting the original testing.

    I don’t want or need the wreath. Why would I lose the potency in my enfeebling set when I’m hitting over 400 skill? And yes, I chose refresh for my second augment as a nod to my other jobs. Considerably more useful than the Macc to me with the gear I have access to.

    I agree with you about the orison body actually, and that’s something I should have fixed. As you might have noticed – I don’t use my Moonshade whilst resting for that very reason but yeah, I agree.

    You’re more than welcome to add constructive feedback, but it’s more than polite to identify yourself ^^

    Like

Leave a Reply

