New Shoes.

I’ve been pretty busy or distracted in game and out recently, the result of which is less blog posts.  I keep meaning to write about things, but not actually publishing anything.

A while ago I had a long moan about movement  speed and the relative hassles we’ve had in procuring it for people in the shell.  Crimson Cuisses proved elusive for three years and then we got 4 pairs in a month.  Since when, no one else has been that bothered… and we haven’t gone back. Of course if people are bothered, we will.

I found myself deeply irritated and ranting about Tiamat and Herald’s gaiters. I’ve had the pants from one of the expansion scenarios for quite some time but I really noticed the difference between me in 8% movement speed and Bergi in 12% when we duoed stuff.

I couldn’t face what seemed like a monumental task to raise the gil to buy gaiters for a long time. There have been two items which have always seemed impossible for me to obtain, one was a novio and one, Herald’s Gaiters. We don’t camp anything.  We do most stuff, we can kill pretty much anything but we just have never really camped. We tried it a couple of times for things like Sandworm and Dark Ixion but honestly no one can be bothered. With Tiamat of course I could just leave an alt there for days. We even got it at Christmas. However , camping doesn’t guarantee you shoes and involves a lot of other people. Who in turn might want shoes.  I don’t think anyone in the shell really has the patience for that these days, although a small group might.

So between a moan, a comment from Slaan, the reluctance to camp Tiamat and the realisation that the price of gaiters had lowered, something changed in my head and I decided to try and make the money for them. Especially as I seemed to sit happily at around a million with no effort whatsoever. Some cross-server encouragement helped too!

So, I started with a clearout. Of both my gear and the remnants of the gear which Silkxiv donated to me when he quit almost a year ago. I’d given a fair bit of that away but there were still some pieces which fetched a decent chunk of change.  I sold off a ton of low and mid-level gear, keeping just key pieces for melee jobs. I still have a ton of mage gear at various levels.

I like Dynamis and we’d done some farming so I made that slightly more regular and that’s helped a ton.  When they released the new spells I then got down because I realised I couldn’t afford the new scrolls I needed, let alone some expensive shoes as well. Something clicked in my head though one day and I made the decision to sell the 15 dice I’d collected from WoE. That helped a lot too.  I decided I was unlikely to have the same head start again and between drops from WoE (minor), pop item farming in Abyssea (some) and Dynamis (lots) my gil starting growing steadily.  I NPC’d a bunch of Dominion Ops augmented weapons and turned some cruor into gil and found that actually it wasn’t too bad to make gil.

I stopped worrying about scrolls and just focused on what I could do to get the gaiters out of the way.  It was the best decision I’ve made.  I had no real idea of what I could get them for to be honest. I thought 7-10m was likely but I only saw people bazaaring them for 12-15.  So when I shouted, over the weekend, I ended with one pair of shoes and 69k change.  I probably could have done better than the 9m I paid but honestly, I did ok and I can live with that.

I realise that come December or March that SE will now release movement speed +18% for mages too; however I think I can live with that too. This is the last ‘dream’ piece I’ve wanted for years and I am now running 4% faster than I was and smiling every time I see my ugly, green pixels.

Herald's Gaiters

Herald's Gaiters

I now can’t level a job which can’t wear Skadi, Crimson Cuisses or Gaiters 🙂 . Not sure where that leaves my 34 PUP – probably saving for a pair of Hermes sandals!

YAY GAITERS!

Tags:

Categories: Equipment, ffxi

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “New Shoes.”

  1. Shao
    October 12, 2011 at 18:31 #

    Congaiterulations!

    Like

  2. October 12, 2011 at 23:16 #

    Congrats on your gaiters El! I know Star talked dyna strategy with you, hopefully that was helpful 🙂 Now good luck on your scrolls!!

    Like

    • eldelphia
      October 13, 2011 at 10:53 #

      Yep, your other half helped motivate me to just get out there and do it. You guys are working so hard on your mythic, I look forward to reading all about it!

      Like

  3. October 13, 2011 at 06:20 #

    Welcome to the club 😀

    Like

  4. takito
    October 27, 2011 at 17:51 #

    I 3 manned tia the other day.. why ppl needs to buy them seriously lol ( setup was pld, thf, whm)

    Like

    • eldelphia
      October 28, 2011 at 09:19 #

      I bought them so I didn’t have to bother camping him or involving others 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

