Seriously, VW loot system..come on. – Page 44

Seriously, VW loot system..come on. – Page 44.

So I’m going to take a look at the new post about Voidwatch drops. I’m doing this because it’s one of the issues which had led to me cancelling my accounts this month whilst taking a break.  It was for me a breaking point.

  • In the event that a rare/ex item drops to you when you already possess the item, it will be possible to exchange that item for a ticket (name pending)

Problem 1: getting the freaking item to drop in the first place!  Most (not all) people are doing Voidwatch and targetting specific pieces with the sole intention of getting them and moving on. Sure if their friends need help or their linkshell does a run they will go again but a lot of VW is run via pickup groups. People often pick and choose the runs they attend just to get the gear they want. I can’t imagine that much has changed in 2 weeks…

So to get the item you want you have to get the item you want to get a ticket to get the item you want. Ok, overly sarcastic and I do know of people who have gotten multiple drops but it isn’t that common… Still it is a sign that SE is bending. Now they downright need to break on this issue.

  • Once you obtain a certain amount of these tickets, it will be possible to exchange them for a rare/ex item of your choice.
    *There will be different types of tickets for different items and you will need to collect the respective ticket for the item you would like.
    *The required number of tickets is still being looked into and there is a possibility of change, but currently we estimate it to be about 5~6.

OK, being able to trade in tickets for items is not a bad thing. Now reread…

*There will be different types of tickets for different items and you will need to collect the respective ticket for the item you would like.

So to get the item you want, you have to get the item you want more than once to get tickets to get the item you want.  You can’t just get tickets for drops in a tier… like Jeuno T3. So for me to get a Heka’s Kalasiris I need to get a Heka’s Kalasiris 5 or 6 times to trade in Heka’s Kalasiris tickets to get my Heka’s Kalasiris! OK, ok I know I’m being facetious here but for me to get my Heka’s Kalasiris I need to either get lucky in VW (it happens) or I need to collect 5-6 tickets from other people who don’t want or already have a Heka’s Kalasiris.  So we have to see 5-6 unwanted Heka’s Kalasiris drop. Which is nice.  To do that you have to spam VW over and over and over again.

To encourage people to continue doing VW, SE then propose that the tickets are sellable somehow. To make them worthwhile to farm the tickets will need to be worth a fair amount. Because for some the random number generator has been unfair or they don’t have enough time to reasonably spam VW, there will always be people willing to pay for them. So I guess that will drive others to participate in runs (not a bad thing) to farm tickets. Which will then get sold at fairly high prices. Because the drop rates are not that high in the first place. So people will end up spending 5-10m I’d guess on a VW body.I can see people feeling pushed to RMT as we speak. Come on SE, seriously? Abyssea was perhaps too far into easy mode but the freaking awesome thing about it was how with work you could make progress… without having all the gil in the world. Abyssea made a severe dent into RMT and you’re practically opening the doors and welcoming them back in.

  • Tickets will be tradable and sellable.

The development team feels that this will not destroy the meaning of having personal rewards, and though the drop rate balance will not be changed, even if you continue to have bad luck obtaining the item you wish, by collecting the tickets from your friends you will eventually be able to obtain the item.

Since there are a lot of rewards items, meaning a large amount of tickets to be created, we will start off by looking into implementing the hard to get items first. Please understand that it will take some time before this is all implemented.

I’m not saying this is all bad. I know it will help a bit. But it is such a minor concession and such a miserable way to do it.  It does mean that people don’t have to send /tells to each other saying they’ve got an item they can’t use AGAIN and people who know each other and get along may exchange tickets.  The fact remains though that the drop rate is low, the demand is high and whilst I’m glad SE is bending this isn’t much of a concession.

I do love though how to get my Heka’s Kalasiris I’d have to get my Heka’s Kalasiris 5 or 6 times to get Heka’s Kalasiris tickets to trade in for my Heka’s Kalasiris.

Fuckwits.

If, they introduce tickets across tiers, then it could work I guess. But why not allow you to trade in drops from tiers and save up for the item you want? If they do that then ok, I can see it working. But if you need to trade in item-specific tickets then I don’t think it’s an improvement.

Tags: ,

Categories: Equipment, ffxi, Rant

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

