So a few people…

So a few people have wondered what’s going on and whether I am going back to FFXI. The answer is ‘not right now’ and possibly not ever. I’m not stupid enough to swear blind that I’m never going back because I’ve seen too many people come and go. I know it’s possible in a while that I’ll feel differently.

One thing I did decide was that I didn’t want to feel pressured to play a game because I was responsible for leading a group. I’ve been a linkshell leader for 7 years and I’ve now stepped down. I asked the remaining sacks whether they wanted to take the group forward and if so, to repearl and to set up a new forum on guildwork. I feel it’s important to make a break between the world of what was essentially Serendipity. I’m thankful that Mart is starting a new group with Rin so that if people want, there is continuity.

I’ve been burning out for a while. Things took a dip when Slaan got a job and Eidan started Uni. Even taking a break in October didn’t help us. Ere started trying to buy a house and Mart was on a break. We didn’t have a full sack team. Honestly though, it’s not even really about logistics – all of those things are resolvable if you have the energy. It’s about me. There was a time when I thought I’d be there til they turned the servers off. That I’d be the last one there when they turned off the lights and locked the door. But no.

I think in all honesty, things started to change with the server merge but so many things have contributed to me simply not enjoying FFXI,  and in the end one of which was leading the shell. It can be a rewarding thing to do but it can also be a thankless thing to do.

There are people I miss and people I don’t. I think as one of my friends said to me earlier “screw fortuna, I’m a serendipity guy”. Sums it up really.

You’ll find me hanging out occasionally on SWTOR with C, Dellos, Ath, Firi & Ere. Not constantly and certainly not as much as I played XI but right now it’s enough to keep me entertained whilst other stuff is going on and is a way of hanging out with some peeps I missed after they left XI. SWTOR isn’t in the same league as XI but I kinda need it to be that way.

Not sure what I’ll do with the blog. I’ll leave it for now and see what happens. Take care guys, you’ll find me on Facebook and can still message me on Guildwork if you want.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: ffxi, Online Life

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “So a few people…”

  1. N/A
    April 10, 2012 at 00:06 #

    Stumbled across this blog after visiting FFXIAH. I haven’t been part of your LS for about 5 years but wanted to say thanks for your help when I was part of it. Good luck with whatever you’re doing post FFXI.

    Like

    • eldelphia
      April 10, 2012 at 09:08 #

      er thanks ‘mystery caller’

      Like

Leave a Reply

