Time is ticking for Vanadiel.

I feel a bit sad about the recent announcements about FFXI. If you haven’t read it, SE have just announced that they are working on one final content arc and after that there will just be minor balance updates. They are withdrawing service for the xbox and PS2 in Spring 2016.

A game can’t live forever but I’m sad that it’s going. I’m not even playing it right now but somehow a whole chapter of my life is finally coming to a close.

Without Final Fantasy XI I would not have met the amazing people I have known over the years. We had some amazing highs and some pretty miserable lows but I know for me personally at times the people on FFXI were the only thing which got me through a bad patch in my life.

I’ve met people from all over the world. From Levander and co in Singapore and surrounding areas, to Kaz all the way over in Alaska. Slaan in the UAE, people from all across Europe and the Americas. Even hung out with a bunch of Australians. As well as played events with people from all over the world who I didn’t get to know.

I’ve met up with players in the UK. I’ve gone to Distant Worlds concerts with friends from the Netherlands and Germany. All of who I met in FFXI. I went to New York City and Conneticut to meet some of our NA players in the flesh.

I remember talking to Clevan and he swore he’d be playing FFXI until they turned the lights out. I suspect if he were around these days we’d have sucked him in to FFXIV but I feel that when FFXI ends, I’m leaving a part of my life and time hanging out with him behind.

I don’t have the mental space for a game like FFXI anymore. I absolutely loved it. I loved the people, I loved Serendipity and I loved almost everything we achieved. I am enjoying FFXIV. It’s not the same, but I don’t expect it to be. There will never be anything like FFXI again.

I am curious about the newly announced Vanadiel Project! I kinda want a taste of Vanadiel to stick around.

How do you feel about the end being in sight for FFXI?

Tags: , ,

Categories: Online Life, updates

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “Time is ticking for Vanadiel.”

  1. Gnarf
    March 19, 2015 at 16:34 #

    Don’t forget Gnarf! πŸ˜€ Nice post, Eld. It is sad to see FFXI go. I take solace in the fact that it is going out gracefully. Until next time~

    Like

    • March 19, 2015 at 16:37 #

      How could I forget such a hyper taru πŸ™‚ ! I’m glad they’re preserving something of Vanadiel.

      Like

Leave a Reply

